h1

Power of the People…

March 30, 2009

I learned the power of Twitter today.

I’m not saying that like I personally discovered it, I mean I felt it today for the first time.

A very good friend of mine was diagnosed in December of 2004 with breast cancer and 9 days later the tumor was removed. She underwent chemo and radiation until September of 2005. And, fortunately has been cancer-free ever since. She has done The Susan G. Komen Walk for 1 mile for 3 years and the 5K run last year and will again this year. I have always tried to help her raise money for these events.

A few simple Tweet’s asking for support for her raised over $1000 in less than 12 hours.

Awe… shock… warmth… You name it, I was overwhelmed with the generosity of the people I follow on Twitter. Made me believe that the spirit of the average human has not been affected by the times, we are still, at heart, just as good, just as noble as we have ever been.

And to see The Power of a network like Twitter in action was truly humbling! Makes me think that, in the end, we will all be fine.

We are, after all, people. And the Power of the People will always prevail

8 comments

  1. Thats so wonderful!! Yay twitter!!!!


  2. Great story!

    Thanks for sharing, this is what it’s all about.


  3. Many thanks from me, too!! MisterNoodle, you’re a treasure. And Matthew, whom I’ve never met, yet he donated $500!!

    If you’re interested in supporting me this year… http://race.komensouthernnevada.org/goto/tym2liv


  4. It is so cool what can be accomplished using Twitter. They recently did a Tweet up to raise money for clean water for people in Africa. I plan on using it to support the Ubuntu Education Fund in promoting their Spring Gala in NY the end of this month. Really happy for your friend. That’s amazing!


  5. Your efforts are great and are to be commended! There really aren’t words adequate to express the love you display. It’s awe-inspiring! You’re great MisterNoodle!


  6. That’s awesome. Glad to hear the power of Twitter worked.


  7. That is really amazing. There ARE good people in the world around us!


  8. That’s amazing. I glad your friend is doing better.



Leave a Reply

