h1

Twitter Experts…

April 21, 2009

 

It seems like every blog I write lately is about Twitter, but, then again, most of my spare time (and a tad bit of my un-spare time) is spent on Twitter. To prove that point, at the time of this writing I have posted 17,912 Tweets multiplied by say an average of 100 letters per Tweet, that’s pretty close to 1.8 million keystrokes… Ok… I shouldn’t have calculated that out… I don’t think I really wanted to know that…

Anyway…

We are starting a Twitter account for a work project and in the meeting they kept calling me the “Twitter Expert”. It made me feel uncomfortable. Not to upset anyone who has “Twitter Expert” in their bio but, honestly, I don’t think there really is such an animal.

People may be an expert in the way they have chosen to use Twitter but the addictiveness of Twitter is in the fact that each and every one of us can use Twitter anyway we want to. To some, Twitter is strictly business (like me). To others, it’s purely social. And to probably the majority it’s some combination of the two.

The beauty of Twitter is the simple fact that each of us has a choice in how we use it, who we follow, who we don’t follow. So if the beauty of Twitter is in the individual choices we make that custom-fits it to our lives, then how can one person tell another how to use it? At that point it’s more about opinion than anything else.

I have opinions on what I like someone I follow to do and share those quite frequently like “PLEASE stop changing your avatars!!” But if someone hates looking at the same picture on every one of their Tweets and chooses to change, who am I to say that’s wrong? I can choose to unfollow them or live with it.

So, I guess a better way to say it is that we are all Twitter Experts on our way to Twitter. But that’s just my opinion…

 

4 comments

  1. How we choose to use twitter is what makes twitter so great. We can choose to sell ppl something or inspire them or just love them.

    Cade


  2. yay for new noodle blog.

    Twitter rocks.. enough said 😛


  3. Well, you’re my Twitter expert. When I first started on Twitter, I asked you all of my questions haha


  4. Awesome……I Love It!

    Most people talk about Twitter in terms of getting to know people, building lists and using followers. But for marketers and business owners, that’s just the start.
    You’ve only got 140 characters to work with, so you have to be concise. This works in your favor because it simplifies your message in the same way an AdWords headline does. Simple is good.

    http://outtoown.com/



Leave a Reply

